clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2019 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs- Quarter Finals Open Thread April 11/19

New, comments

3 games on tap tonight: The Champs begin defense of their title, the Leafs take on their old foe and Calgary sets out to prove they’re for real.

Toronto Maple Leafs v Boston Bruins Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

BOSTON BRUINS VS TORONTO MAPLE LEAFS- 7:00PM EDT/4:00 PM PDT

They’re getting a do-over, and there’s a ton of pressure on Mike Babcock to get his charges over the same hurdle that keeps tripping them up. They’ve been a better team this year, but can they overcome the mental block that comes with this challenge? The Bruins are in a good place: starting at home, with all the pressure on the visitors. It’s their series to lose.

WASHINGTON CAPITALS VS CAROLINA HURRICANES- 7:30PM EDT/4:30PM PDT

Talk about no pressure, these jerks aren’t even supposed to be here. Instead, it’s all on the Capitals to try and prove they’re not another one and done champ. Heavy is the crown and all that. Carolina’s resurgence has been one of the best things about hockey this year, but taking them lightly would be a dire mistake. Cinderella’s not looking for a participation medal.

CALGARY FLAMES VS COLORADO AVALNCHE- 10:00PM EDT/7:00PM PDT

The Calgary Flames have gone through spurts where they looked like the team to beat, and others where they looked downright brutal (like how they played against the Canucks this season, for example). There’s a lot of questions about the Flames, the two biggest being can they get the goaltending a team needs to go on a run, and is this team for real. Handily dismissing the Avalanche can address both of those questions.

Tonight we want to know: what’s your game day meal (and drink of choice if you are so inclined). Bonus marks for pics of your grub!