clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2019 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs- Quarter Finals Open Thread April 10/19

New, comments

The 2019 Stanley Cup Finals get underway with 5 games on the schedule tonight!

Tampa Bay Lightning v Columbus Blue Jackets Photo by Kirk Irwin/Getty Images

It all starts tonight. 16 teams battling for the right to hoist the hardest to win trophy in all of professional sports. We’re going to have nightly open threads for you, as always, and thank you for sticking through this with us!

TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING VS COLUMBUS BLUE JACKETS- 7PM EST/4PM PST

The best team in the NHL have everyone gunning for them, and they’re under a lot of pressure to come through in this record breaking season. Can John Tortorella’s crew get the upset against the Lightning?

NEW YORK ISLANDERS VS PITTSBURGH PENGUINS- 7:30PM EST/4:30PM PST

The Islanders mission all season has been clear: Prove to the hockey world that they’re just fine without John Tavares. They’ll have their work cut out for them against the Penguins, but this Pittsburgh team has struggled at times this season. Do they have another long run in them?

WINNIPEG JETS VS ST LOUIS BLUES- 8:00PM EST/5:00PM PST

The Jets were an early season favorite but have been fumbling their way into the post-season. St Louis would love nothing more than continue the run that saw them go from 31st place into a playoff spot since New Years. They’ll have to deal with the sea of white, and Winnipeg can be a different beast with that crowd behind them.

NASHVILLE PREDATORS VS DALLAS STARS- 9:30PM EST/6:30PM PST

High expectations again this year in Nashville, but they’re up against a sneaky good Dallas squad looking to put some early season bullshit behind them. Can Pekka Rinne get hot again, or will we have a repeat of what happened against Winnipeg?

SAN JOSE SHARKS VS VEGAS GOLDEN KNIGHTS- 10:30PM EST/7:30PM PST

The nightcap game features a San Jose Sharks squad that’s had to outscore its way out of trouble thanks to some of the worst goaltending in the NHL. If Martin Jones isn’t lights out in this series, Vegas is gonna devour these Sharks.