clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2018 NHL Playoffs Round 1- Game 2 Open Thread Apr 13/18

The Flyers, Wild and Kings all look to avoid going home down 2-0 as they prepare for their Game 2’s tonight.

Philadelphia Flyers v Pittsburgh Penguins - Game One Photo by Justin Berl/Getty Images

PHILADELPHIA @ PITTSBURGH- 7:00 EDT/ 4:00 PDT (CBC) (Penguins lead series 1-0)

Game 1 of this series was... ugly. It wasn’t as ugly as the 10-3 loss in Game 4 of their 2012 series, but still pretty bad. The Flyers will go with Brian Elliott again in Game 2, but the entire team is going to have to do a much better job of defending and giving Elliott a chance to succeed if they hope to head back to Philly tied 1-1. They’ll also need to do more to test Matt Murray. Getting on the scoreboard early and taking the Penguins fans out of the equation is a must. Overall, it was a failure from top to bottom, and they need to respond or this one is gonna be over a lot sooner than people thought (myself included).

We also want to send our best wishes for a speedy recovery to Broad Street Hockey’s Associate Editor Steph Driver.

MINNESOTA @ WINNIPEG- 7:30 EDT/ 4:30 PDT (SN) (Jets lead series 1-0)

After getting that elusive first ever playoff victory out of the way, the focus for the Jets has to be not resting on those laurels and moving the series back to Minnesota with a 2-0 lead. The Wild aren’t making any changes to their lineup, and you can’t blame them as they played well and probably feel like they let one slip away Wednesday night. No word yet on whether the Jets will have Mathieu Perrault in the lineup. Perrault left with an upper body injury following a number of heavy hits from the Wild. The Wild are going to need their best players to show up tonight, as the line of Eric Staal, Nino Neiderreiter and Jason Zucker were non-factors in that Game 1 loss.

LOS ANGELES @ VEGAS- 10:00 EDT/ 7:00 PDT (CBC) (Golden Knights lead series 1-0)

The Kings will be without their best defenceman as Drew Doughty serves his one game suspension from DoPS for his hit on William Carrier in Game 1. Carrier didn’t skate with the team yesterday and is doubtful for tonight.

The Golden Knights are doing a lot of things right, and the community support of the team has been amazing, including this

The team hired coach Gerard Gallant one year ago today, and they will be pushing hard to get him a win for this anniversary. The Kings will be looking for the back end to step up, as the loss of Doughty compounds the problems of missing Derek Forbert and Jake Muzzin with injuries. Muzzin should return to the lineup soon, but will it be in time to keep this one from ending early?