clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Canucks At Stars Preview: There's A Chance

New, comments
Time Thursday, 5:30 PST
TV Sportsnet Pac.
Season Series 2-0 Stars
Last Meeting
4-1 Stars, Dec.19/13
The Enemy Defending Big D Scoring Leaders D. Sedin: 13-27-40
Seguin: 25-33-58

CANUCKS CATEGORY STARS
28-26-10 SEASON RECORD 29-23-10
66 POINTS 68
11th CONFERENCE POSITION 8th
Lost 3
STREAK Lost 1
1-8-1 LAST 10 3-5-2
13-16-4 ROAD RECORD / HOME RECORD 16-10-6
-17 GOALS FOR / AGAINST DIFF. E
0.93 (21) 5 ON 5 GF / GA DIFF. 0.99 (15)
13.9 (28) POWER PLAY % 14.7 (24)
84.7 (5) PENALTY KILL % 81.3 (18)
147 (25) GOALS SCORED 172 (14)

Just got back from my trip to Dr. Recchi's home town and I see that...whaaa Ryan Kesler was not traded? First of all, I knew they wouldn't trade him. The asking price was very high (and I don't mind that). Secondly, Ryan Kesler is one of the few Canucks on this current shit roster that plays his heart out and gets results much of the time. That's more than I can say for you Henrik Sedin. Hank, take a look at the Kesler and learn something. The heart and soul of this team is Ryan Kesler and he is still wearing a Canucks jersey. Yay!

Put the "C" on his chest! Regardless of what happened today, Kesler is going to go out there and play like a leader.

With so many fingers pointing Mike Gillis' direction, let's f***ing point them at the players instead (except guys like Kesler)! Fruitless! Gutless! Futile! Fragile! Lacking Ambition! 8 goals scored in their last 8 games? And this is a GM problem? Maybe Shawn Matthias can step in and become what Santorelli was. You never know. Look at his skills:

I like him already. Screw the talk of inconsistency. He'll inject some life into this dud team.

The Canucks could still make the playoffs too. There is a chance. Would somebody please step up to the plate and start filling the opposing team's net? Thank you very much!

However, from Defending Big D:

Vancouver trails Dallas by two points and the Stars have two games in hand. A winning hand dealt by the home team could make that mountain very hard to climb for John Tortorella's bunch. This is a really, really big one.

Brad Richardson may miss this game with an upper-body injury. Daniel Sedin remains out with a hamstring injury.

The Canucks are only 2 points behind the Stars. The Stars are holding on to OUR 8th spot in the West. Out of the way, you bastards!

KNOW YOUR ENEMY

Top 5 Stars Scorers

1. Seguin: 25-33-58

2. Benn: 23-33-56

3. Eakin: 13-16-29

4. Nichushkin: 13-16-29

5. Peverley: 7-20-27

The scoring really drops off after Jamie Benn, but the Stars can get goals from anywhere.

TIMMAH

Dallas acquired Timmy Thomas from Florida today in exchange for Dan Ellis. They also traded d-man Stephane Robidas to Anaheim.  Thomas is not expected to to start this game. Kari Lehtonen is.

MISC

From the Stars' website:

-Dallas Stars defensemen have scored five goals over the last four games, including four goals over the last two. (Take notes, Canucks)

-The Stars have been outscored 6-0 in first periods over the last three games.

SCORE-PREDICTING WIZARDS UPDATE

No change after the 1-0 loss to Phoenix.

The title of this game preview post has been brought to you by Dumb And Dumber:

GO CANUCKS GO!

I still believe! I am your #1 fanboy! I still believe in Blue and Green, and Fin, and STUFF!