clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards Show Open Thread

The Art Ross trophy will officially be presented to Henrik Sedin tonight.  But can he also win the Hart?   (via <a href=""></a>)
The Art Ross trophy will officially be presented to Henrik Sedin tonight. But can he also win the Hart? (via

Well, the NHL awards are tonight, and we finally find out how many awards can be taken by Canucks players.  Did Ryan Kesler dethrone Pavel Datsyuk for the Selke?  Did Henrik Sedin outplay both Alex Ovechkin and Sidney Crosby for the Hart?  The show starts at 4:30 pm PST on Versus.  If you're in Canada, you can either wait for it to come on television with a 1-hour tape delay at 5:30 pm, or go to their live online stream at  Red carpet coverage is already streaming online at the homepage.

I will add updates up here each time someone wins an award (or anything else of relevance).  If any of you are watching with the tape delay, I apologize in advance for spoiling the surprise, although almost everyone else will already be talking about it before you get to see it.  Hopefully, the Hart trophy will be awarded before my midterm starts at 6:30 pm.....

List of nominees after the jump.

UPDATE: Tyler Myers won the Calder.

UPDATE: Pavol Datsyuk won the Selke again.  Poor poor Keslord.

UPDATE: Alex Ovechkin wins the Lindsay.

UPDATE: Dave Tippett wins the Jack Adams.

UPDATE: Ryan Miller wins the Vezina.

UPDATE: Jose Theodore wins the Masterton.

UPDATE: Shane Doan receives the King Clancy trophy.

UPDATE: Martin St. Louis wins the Lady Byng.

UPDATE: Sidney Crosby won the Messier Leadership Award.

UPDATE: Duncan Keith won the Norris.

UPDATE:  HANK WINS THE HART!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HANK WINS THE HART!!!!!!!!!!!!! HANK WINS THE HART!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hart Trophy (league MVP as voted by press): Sidney Crosby, Alex Ovechkin (incumbent), Henrik Sedin

Vezina Trophy (best goaltender): Martin Brodeur, Ilya Bryzgalov, Ryan Miller

Norris Trophy (best defenseman): Drew Doughty, Mike Green, Duncan Keith

Calder Trophy (best rookie): Matt Duchene, Jimmy Howard, Tyler Myers

Lady Byng Trophy (most sportsmanlike): Pavel Datsyuk (incumbent), Brad Richards, Martin St Louis

Selke Trophy (best defensive forward): Pavel Datsyuk (incumbent), Ryan Kesler, Jordan Staal

Adams Award (best head coach): Joe Sacco (Avalanche), Dave Tippett (Coyotes), Barry Trotz (Predators)

Masterton Trophy (for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication when faced with adversity): Kurtis Foster, Jed Ortmeyer, Jose Theodore

Lindsay Award (formerly Lester B. Pearson award, most outstanding player as voted by players): Sidney Crosby, Alex Ovechkin (incumbent), Henrik Sedin

Messier Award (leadership): Sidney Crosby, Shane Doan, Ryan Miller

NHL Foundation Award (humanitarian): Dustin Brown, Mike Green, Ryan Miller

Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy (most goals scored): Sidney Crosby, Steven Stamkos

Art Ross Trophy (most points): Henrik Sedin

William Jennings Award (goaltender with fewest goals allowed against): Martin Brodeur