2012 NHL Awards Open Thread

Unfortunately, the KesLord was unable to defend his Selke title. (Photo by Jeff Gross/Getty Images)

So, it comes to the time of year where the stars meet in Vegas for the NHL Awards. As we sit through a night of mediocre entertainment and celebrity presenters (shockingly, there is no single host this year), we get to see who was the best in their categories this year.

Red carpet coverage starts at 1:00 pm PDT, with live stream and updates on NHL.com. Kevin Weekes of CBC fame will be there taking questions from fans, you can send him questions using the hashtag #AskWeekes on Twitter. Finally, at 4:00 pm PDT, the show will begin on NBCSports down south and CBCSports.ca up here. CBC Television will have the show starting at 5:00 pm PDT on tape delay.

Head past the jump to see the nominees for all the categories. Providing I'm at a computer at showtime, I'll update throughout to show who were the winners.

Hart Trophy (NHL MVP, voted by press): Evgeni Malkin (winner), Steven Stamkos, Henrik Lundqvist

Ted Lindsay Award (NHL MVP, voted by NHLPA): Evgeni Malkin (winner), Steven Stamkos, Henrik Lundqvist

Vezina Trophy (best goaltender): Henrik Lundqvist (winner), Jonathan Quick, Pekka Rinne

Norris Trophy (best defenseman): Zdeno Chara, Shea Weber, Erik Karlsson (winner)

Calder Trophy (best rookie): Adam Henrique, Gabriel Landeskog (winner), Ryan Nugent-Hopkins

Selke Trophy (best defensive forward): David Backes, Patrice Bergeron (winner), Pavel Datsyuk

Lady Byng Trophy (sportsmanship): Brian Campbell (winner), Jordan Eberle, Matt Moulson

Masterton Trophy (perseverance and dedication): Daniel Alfredsson, Joffrey Lupul, Max Pacioretty (winner)

Bridgestone Messier Leadership Award (self-explanatory): Dustin Brown, Ryan Callahan, Shane Doan (winner)

NHL Foundation Award (community work): Mike Fisher (winner), John-Michael Liles, Matt Moulson

King Clancy Trophy (community work): Daniel Alfredsson (winner)

Jack Adams Award (best coach): Ken Hitchcock (Blues) (winner), John Tortorella (Rangers), Paul MacLean (Senators)

GM of the Year Award (self-explanatory): Doug Armstrong (Blues) (winner), Dale Tallon (Panthers), David Poile (Predators)

Art Ross Trophy (NHL points leader): Evgeni Malkin (already won)

Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy (NHL goals leader): Steven Stamkos (already won)

William Jennings Trophy (least GA for team): Brian Elliott and Jaroslav Halak (already won)

EA Sports NHL 13 Cover: Claude Giroux (winner), Pekka Rinne

SB Nation Featured Video
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Nucks Misconduct

You must be a member of Nucks Misconduct to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Nucks Misconduct. You should read them.

Join Nucks Misconduct

You must be a member of Nucks Misconduct to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Nucks Misconduct. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.